The Arkansas World War I Centennial Commemoration Committee will work with organizations in Arkansas and beyond to develop programs and events to remember Arkansas and its role in the Great War. Some of our partners are listed below.

  • 100 Cities/100 Memorials program
  • American Legion
  • Arkansas Association of College History Teachers
  • Arkansas Department of Education
  • Arkansas Forestry Commission
  • Arkansas Historic Preservation Program
  • Arkansas Historical Association
  • Arkansas Inland Maritime Museum
  • Arkansas Museums Association
  • Arkansas National Guard
  • Arkansas State Archives
  • Arkansas State Capitol
  • Arkansas State Library
  • Arkansas Women's History Institute
  • Association of Arkansas Counties
  • Boy Scouts
  • Butler Center for Arkansas Studies
  • Clinton Presidential Library
  • Department of Arkansas Heritage
  • Historic Arkansas Museum
  • Jacksonville Museum of Military History
  • KASU Public Radio
  • KUAF Public Radio
  • KUAR Public Radio
  • MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History
  • Mosaic Templars Cultural Center
  • National Guard Museum
  • National WWI Museum
  • Old State House Museum
  • Sequoyah National Research Center
  • The Arkansas Living History Association
  • UALR Department of Mass Communications
  • United States WWI Centennial Commission
  • University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Women's Suffrage Centennial Committee

Committee Members

Stacy Hurst, Director, Department of Arkansas Heritage, ex officio.
Dr. Shawn Fisher, Professor of History, Harding University (Chairman).
Dr. Raymond (Ray) Screws, Director, Arkansas National Guard Museum (Vice-Chairman).
Lt. Col. Joel Lynch, Public Affairs Officer, Arkansas National Guard.
Peter MacKeith, Dean, Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design, University of Arkansas.
Major General Mark Berry, Adjutant General, Arkansas National Guard; Director, Military Dept. of Arkansas.
Lt. Col. Ken Griffin (ret.) , Military and Veterans Affairs Liaison, Office of the Governor.
Bill Wussick, Designee, Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs.
Dr. Wendy Richter, Director, Arkansas State Archives, and State Historian.
Mark Christ, Designee, Department of Arkansas Heritage.




Mark Christ - Designee, Department of Arkansas Heritage
Dr. Raymond (Ray) Screws - Director, Arkansas National Guard Museum
Dr. Lisa Speer – Arkansas State Historian
Zach Lehr for Lt. Col. Joel Lynch - Public Affairs Officer, Arkansas National Guard
Angela Kubaiko – Administrative Analyst


The meeting was called to order by Dr. Screws at 9:35 a.m. Dr. Screws asks all of the guests to introduce themselves. Approval of Minutes Dr. Screws asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the November 2, 2016, meeting. Dr. Speer made a motion to approve the m..