About Us

Governor Asa Hutchinson created the Arkansas World War I Centennial Commemoration Committee by executive order on May 31, 2016, and appointed members to lead the state's remembrance on the 100th anniversary of the Great War.

The Arkansas World War I Centennial Commemoration Committee has the following duties:

1. To plan, develop, and carry out programs and activities appropiate to commemorate the centennial of World War I and to encourage development of programs that ensure that commemoration results in a positive legacy and has long-tems benefits; To encourage interdisciplinary examination of World War I;

2. To facilitate World War I-related activities throughout the state;

3. To encourage civic, historical, educational, economic, and other organizations across the state to organize and participate in activities to expand the understanding and appreciation of the significance of World War I.

4. To coordinate and facilitate the public distribution of scholarly research, publication and interpretation of World War I;

5. To provide technical assistance to local organizations and nonprofit organizations to further the commemoration of the centennial of World War I. All events, activities, and projects of the Committee will be completed during the years of 2017 and 2018. The Committee will cease to exist and expire on December 31, 2018.

Committee Members

Stacy Hurst, Director, Department of Arkansas Heritage, ex officio.
Dr. Shawn Fisher, Professor of History, Harding University (Chairman).
Dr. Raymond (Ray) Screws, Director, Arkansas National Guard Museum (Vice-Chairman).
Lt. Col. Joel Lynch, Public Affairs Officer, Arkansas National Guard.
Peter MacKeith, Dean, Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design, University of Arkansas.
Major General Mark Berry, Adjutant General, Arkansas National Guard; Director, Military Dept. of Arkansas.
Lt. Col. Ken Griffin (ret.) , Military and Veterans Affairs Liaison, Office of the Governor.
Bill Wussick, Designee, Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs.
Dr. Wendy Richter, Director, Arkansas State Archives, and State Historian.
Mark Christ, Designee, Department of Arkansas Heritage.




Mark Christ - Designee, Department of Arkansas Heritage
Dr. Raymond (Ray) Screws - Director, Arkansas National Guard Museum
Dr. Lisa Speer – Arkansas State Historian
Zach Lehr for Lt. Col. Joel Lynch - Public Affairs Officer, Arkansas National Guard
Angela Kubaiko – Administrative Analyst


The meeting was called to order by Dr. Screws at 9:35 a.m. Dr. Screws asks all of the guests to introduce themselves. Approval of Minutes Dr. Screws asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the November 2, 2016, meeting. Dr. Speer made a motion to approve the m..